Wargamers
http://wargamers.freeforums.org/
Xmas 2011 Clash(es)?
http://wargamers.freeforums.org/xmas-2011-clash-es-t431.html
Page 1 of 2

Author: Tubes [ 02 Dec 2011 10:10 am ]
Post subject: Xmas 2011 Clash(es)?

Anyone up for at least a day of 40k? It has been suggested that we do the 750pts fixed force round robin. I think just before Xmas it would be me, Rob, Pete & Matt. Ju should be back just after Boxing Day (I hope).

Should we have a day of this before Xmas, or wait for Ju…? Or try the small skirmish into large battle day? Or, slightly off topic, dust off the MoW or try BFG at some point. Thoughts and definite no-go days would be appreciated (I think the 25 & 26th are out).


Author: Tubes [ 02 Dec 2011 10:13 am ]
Post subject: Re: Xmas 2011 Clash(es)?

Ah, just remembered Space Hulk, Chaos in the Old World, Zombies, BB Team Manager & Panic Room…? Maybe mix it up a bit?


Author: The Power Spence [ 02 Dec 2011 10:48 am ]
Post subject: Re: Xmas 2011 Clash(es)?

I have the whole period off (Friday before Christmas til the Monday after New Year). Apart from the obvious days I’ll be free.

I can bring back my Gothic stuff if you guys fancy a game? I have Imperial, Chaos, Orks (just for Matt ;) ) and a very small Dark Eldar fleet.


Author: DOOM [ 02 Dec 2011 01:09 pm ]
Post subject: Re: Xmas 2011 Clash(es)?

I know I won’t be back for xmas day and at the moment I sort of thinking I won’t be back much at all, but it all depends on shifts.

I may try to come back for a few days after boxing day, leading up to new year, but then Miquette and I might both go to Manchester. I’m not sure and won’t really know until closer to the time.

You should try to have a day of 750pts battles, with set armies so everyone is as balanced as possible and then another day or evening for boardgames and/or gothic.


Author: BrizzleRob [ 02 Dec 2011 08:44 pm ]
Post subject: Re: Xmas 2011 Clash(es)?

I anticipate being back for several days ahead of Xmas. I’ll be interested in all of the above; some WH40K, other games and board games.

How about jointly pre-preparing 750pt armies here? We then randomly select/allocate forces on the day?


Author: Tubes [ 03 Dec 2011 01:10 pm ]
Post subject: Re: Xmas 2011 Clash(es)?

I’m not quite sure about jointly creating 750pt forces then randomly deciding who commands which. I like the intention but think that I would struggle with an unfamiliar force/rules. Maybe after the first round (where people can see the forces at work) either randomly decide or even swap with your opponent!? That would be interesting…


Author: BrizzleRob [ 03 Dec 2011 07:10 pm ]
Post subject: Re: Xmas 2011 Clash(es)?

Any thoughts on force restrictions?


Author: Tubes [ 04 Dec 2011 06:37 am ]
Post subject: Re: Xmas 2011 Clash(es)?

I didn’t understand this initially. However just thought about it and… 750pts isn’t really that much to tool up your force with. I think the basic/compulsory choices:

1 HQ
1 (or 2?) Troop

I doubt guys would have a mega tooled up HQ. I’m guessing the forces would be:

Me – Eldar
Rob – Guard or SM, poss Nids?
Matt – Orks
Pete – I don’t really know. Though your Tau were ridiculously (too?) good last time, weren’t they?

I like the idea for a random opponent to start. Then rematch swapping forces to see it from the other side’s point of view?


Author: snailracer [ 04 Dec 2011 08:48 pm ]
Post subject: Re: Xmas 2011 Clash(es)?

All sound like good ideas. Am I allowed to throw in Inquisitor? I’d like to have a go at it at some point :)

Does anyone have a preference for which day? At present I’m free but I know there are plans being made that will take up days


Author: DOOM [ 05 Dec 2011 08:21 am ]
Post subject: Re: Xmas 2011 Clash(es)?

My job finishes on xmas eve, then I won’t be working until at least the new year while they determine who to bring back as a permanent. So i’ll be free and hope to come down after boxing day!

I think we can trust people to make balanced forces without any tooling up. No point worrying about it. If we have time it’d be nice to swap sides and have a go with other armies, but personally I’m more interested in playing everyone and getting into my own little force – probably of guard infantry or ork infantry…

I’d love to try some inquisitor! I’ll also see if I can fit my advanced heroquest set in my bag and bring it down. I’m desperate to give that a whirl!


Author: Tubes [ 05 Dec 2011 09:10 am ]
Post subject: Re: Xmas 2011 Clash(es)?

Inquisitor sounds good… Now got to try to schedule these all (most) in!

A day before Xmas (when Ju not there) – 22 to 24th:
• A MoW skirmish (to dust off models)
• A 40k skirmish (to refresh the rules again)
• Try some Inqusitor

A day (or a couple?) after Xmas – 28th:
• 40k 750pts morning & afternoon
• Try out BB Team Manager in evening (quick & easy game)?

(Another day?) – 30th:
• BFG
• Advanced HQ?
• Chaos on the Old World (it is a fairly quick & easy game)?

I think that covers most of it. Thoughts, dates etc?


Author: DOOM [ 06 Dec 2011 09:32 am ]
Post subject: Re: Xmas 2011 Clash(es)?

I’ll be sad to miss out on some Inquisitor, but it’d be unreasonable to expect to do everything. Otherwise dates sound good to me. I’ve spoken with Miquette and she’s going to head up north and I’ll come down south after boxing day and then I can potentially spend a good week or so down south!

I had another idea about 40k. As we’re playing relatively small games I don’t see why we can’t allow players not to HAVE to pick an HQ choice, as long as they have a suitably ranked Troops or Elite squad leader. For example, with a guard force you could lead your force with a veteran sergeant or a platoon lieutenant, with orks it could be a particularly fearsome Nob, Tau could have a Sergeant or a Battlesuit and so on…

Means forces can be more interesting, without having to have expensive overly ranked leader in command of a skirmish force.

Thoughts?


Author: Tubes [ 06 Dec 2011 02:35 pm ]
Post subject: Re: Xmas 2011 Clash(es)?

I agree with Ju’s proposal of no requirement for an HQ choice, but you need a suitable force commander I.e SM Vet Sgt, Ork Nob, IG Platoon Lt, Eldar Exarch…

Anyone else have thoughts with dates & approx schedule?


Author: BrizzleRob [ 06 Dec 2011 02:41 pm ]
Post subject: Re: Xmas 2011 Clash(es)?

I concur with the proposal to omit HQ units. Similarly I had considered restricting heavy support to two units; keep the emphasis on basic but flexi forces.


Author: snailracer [ 06 Dec 2011 03:26 pm ]
Post subject: Re: Xmas 2011 Clash(es)?

I can only do 23/24th depending on when we go pub cycling, and the 30th.

All the 40k ideas sound good. It does make it far easier if we can have a lower cost leader


Page 1 of 2 All times are UTC – 1 hour [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/

 

Wargamers
http://wargamers.freeforums.org/
Xmas 2011 Clash(es)?
http://wargamers.freeforums.org/xmas-2011-clash-es-t431-15.html
Page 2 of 2

Author: BrizzleRob [ 06 Dec 2011 05:06 pm ]
Post subject: Re: Xmas 2011 Clash(es)?

I would be able to do dates before Xmas. I don’t anticipate being around long afterwards.

What HQ-lite options are there for ‘nids?


Author: Tubes [ 06 Dec 2011 05:22 pm ]
Post subject: Re: Xmas 2011 Clash(es)?

Great! Just need input from Pete to square this away… So I propose this plan:

A day before Xmas (all except Ju?) – 23rd:
A combination of…
• A MoW skirmish (to dust off models)
• A 40k skirmish (to refresh the rules again)
• Try BFG (if Pete comes?)
• Try some Inqusitor

After Xmas (all of us!?) – 30th:
• 40k 750pts morning & afternoon
• Try out BB Team Manager in evening (quick & easy game)?

Another day? (all except Matt?) – 28th:
• BFG
• Advanced HQ?
• Horus Heresy?

Is that a plan?


Author: Tubes [ 06 Dec 2011 05:32 pm ]
Post subject: Re: Xmas 2011 Clash(es)?

Rob, maybe go for nid warriors…?


Author: Tubes [ 09 Dec 2011 10:20 am ]
Post subject: Re: Xmas 2011 Clash(es)?

So judging by the lack of replies we’ll go for those dates?

I’m currently painting Eldar & have a force in mind already… Mwahhahaha (meant to be evil laughter)


Page 2 of 2 All times are UTC – 1 hour [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/
