Wargamers
http://wargamers.freeforums.org/
STC – Baneblade
http://wargamers.freeforums.org/stc-baneblade-t320.html
Page 1 of 1

Author: snailracer [ 07 May 2010 04:17 pm ]
Post subject: STC – Baneblade

This thing is huge. The cutting mat squares are 50mm.

I’m very glad that I didnt quite scale it correctly when I printed the plans out or it would be even bigger. At this size it is the same as the plans from WD, but if it had been bigger it would be more in line with the current FW model.

Image

Image

The main hull is coming together and I’m hoping for an almost complete model by the end of the weekend. Tracks might be an issue as will getting the right size pipes to make the wheels and gun barrels


Author: Tubes [ 07 May 2010 06:07 pm ]
Post subject: Re: STC – Baneblade

That looks great. I should have the stompa done by the Bank Hol w/end. Can’t wait!


Author: BrizzleRob [ 08 May 2010 12:12 pm ]
Post subject: Re: STC – Baneblade

Put up more photos as you progress! :)


Author: snailracer [ 08 May 2010 03:01 pm ]
Post subject: Re: STC – Baneblade

A bit more progress today

Image

Image

Image

Still need some tubes or dowels to make all the cylinders as i dont fancy trying to get card into the right shape. Not sure how nuts i’ll go with the detailing as I’d like to get it useable for the game and then come back to it.


Author: Tubes [ 09 May 2010 05:19 pm ]
Post subject: Re: STC – Baneblade

Looks great, I presume you have come across the same issue as I had when making the stompa: Enthusiasm to start with the easy/basic shape then slow down when it comes to detail as I don’t have all the correct/best materials and either bodge it or wait.

I have a bit or dowel and piping if you need something. I will measure the diameters in a bit but would only be able to get it to you the day before the game!

Foolishly I thought about quickly printing out the templates you used and trying it myself. However I have other stuff to do/finish and don’t have the best material. Do you use normal card (cereal box) or plastic card?


Author: snailracer [ 09 May 2010 07:03 pm ]
Post subject: Re: STC – Baneblade

I have a load of 1.5mm card that emma had left over from uni. Spray mount the paper onto it and then cut it out. Card isnt the best and some of the joins could be better but its a cheap option. I will try and get some dowels this week.


Author: DOOM [ 13 May 2010 06:18 am ]
Post subject: Re: STC – Baneblade

Nice one! This looks awesome!

Really can’t wait for the weekend. If my bros and I can get the boards looking better, plus we can display mostly painted armies, it should look really spectacular!


Author: snailracer [ 14 May 2010 06:08 pm ]
Post subject: Re: STC – Baneblade

Some more progress

Image

Image

Main turret needs finishing. Main cannon doesnt lift up but all turrets swivel. Small turrets need a bit of work to make them lie flat. Only had two heavy bolters so need to knock some up for the sponsons. I have found that plastic wine corks are perfect for the wheels but I dont have enough so it will probably be without tracks for the game :)

And finally I decided to knock this up alongside the baneblade:

Image

The nose is really fiddly but it wont take much more work to be able to use it as a crashed Thunderbolt with a pilot needing to be rescued. :)


Author: snailracer [ 20 May 2010 05:11 pm ]
Post subject: Re: STC – Baneblade

Well I’m done. They’re no where near perfect but they will do for the game, which is better than most of my orks :)

Image

Image

Image

Image


Author: Tubes [ 21 May 2010 05:14 am ]
Post subject: Re: STC – Baneblade

They look great!!! Can’t wait


Author: Tubes [ 23 May 2010 08:47 pm ]
Post subject: Re: STC – Baneblade

I have to admit when you decided you would have a go I was very tempted also. I buckled on fri and printed off the templates; however I have gone for a Stormlord varient. I will acquire/duplicate the HWs when back this w/end. The turret needs work (probably expand the lower/fixed portion as it is meant to be a turret (i.e. 360 arc) not a fixed forward arc on the model you can buy. I was just amazed by the model and the idea of this tank!

Image
Image
Image


Author: DOOM [ 24 May 2010 06:32 am ]
Post subject: Re: STC – Baneblade

Do you know what the stats are for the stormlord?

Looks really good though!

Although I must say I’m more looking forward to using the baneblade, and it looks immense! :)


Author: Tubes [ 24 May 2010 08:36 pm ]
Post subject: Re: STC – Baneblade

The Stormlord’s stats are here


Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC – 1 hour [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/
