Wargamers
http://wargamers.freeforums.org/
Ork looted vehicles
http://wargamers.freeforums.org/ork-looted-vehicles-t386.html
Page 1 of 1

Author: DOOM [ 11 Jan 2011 09:31 am ]
Post subject: Ork looted vehicles

Been thinking about ork looted vehicles, chatted to chris as well, and have thought of a few basic rules for maybe re-introducing them into our gaming.

Firstly, they cost the same as their equivilent. They won’t be as good but i feel the ork player should pay a premium for having the luxury of being able to use another army’s hardware.

Secondly, it would effectively have ‘bonehead’, as in it might break down every turn. On a roll of a 1 at the beginning of the turn it cannot do anything until the next turn.

Thirdly, when being shot the opponent gets +1 on the damage table because it’s insides are likely to be abit make shift and not as solid as they originally were.

Otherwise, the armour and armaments stay the same. But obviously, the crew are now orks.

Thoughts?


Author: snailracer [ 11 Jan 2011 01:00 pm ]
Post subject: Re: Ork looted vehicles

I think there are looted vehicle rules in the current codex so I shall dig it out later. I think they are quite harsh and most armies would rather have the ork vehicles.

I think I agree with most of your rules but i think the +1 is a bit harsh.


Author: DOOM [ 12 Jan 2011 10:50 am ]
Post subject: Re: Ork looted vehicles

I wasn’t sure if there were any rules out there so I literally just thought of those off the top of my head in a conversation with Chris.

I thought I remembered the currently Ork codex had a standard “looted vehicle” army choice, which I thought was rubbish..

My thinking was that these rules would allow Orks to be able to take looted Leman Russ, Land Raiders, Whirlwinds, Basalisks… well anything (obviously..) The +1 to the damage table I thought was suitable as the insides will be pretty mashed up. The vehicle would still have it’s normal armour value, so a Lemas Russ would still be armour 14 front with a battle cannon and various heavy bolters!

Anyway, you’re quite right that the Orks “own” vehicles are already well suited to them, just thought it might add some flavour for some future scenarios to have some Blood Axe (are they the lootery ones?) Orks with various bits of Imperial hardware attacking a bewildered Imperial Guard outpost of something.

I particularly like the idea of the vehicle randomly breaking down :) maybe we could make a rule where it can still firing it’s side weapons, as they wouldn’t be very complicated and inclined to breaking, whereas a primary weapon and botched together engine repair probably would!


Author: snailracer [ 12 Jan 2011 06:50 pm ]
Post subject: Re: Ork looted vehicles

Essentially a Looted Wagon is eleven,eleven,ten open topped with all the usual ork options and a boomgun (basilisk ish)

And don’t press dat special rule. Essentially bonehead but instead of doing nothing you move forward as far as possible. So I think I now prefer your house rule :)

If you had a land raider you’d have to call it a battlewagon as the options a so much better than it being looted. Side goes down to twelve tho.

Having read that again I dont think your rules are too harsh. I think I still have the previous codex that has all the looted imp. vehicles listed so it might be worth using those rules to fit this edition?


Author: DOOM [ 12 Jan 2011 11:41 pm ]
Post subject: Re: Ork looted vehicles

The last few editions have been basically the same with just a few Tweeks here and there.

Check out the previous rules with imperial vehicles and we’ll see if we can use em – I reckon we probably could. Otherwise I quite like my few rules and we can always have a few test skirmishes to see if they balance ok.


Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC – 1 hour [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/
