Wargamers
http://wargamers.freeforums.org/
MoW Standard Base Sizes
http://wargamers.freeforums.org/mow-standard-base-sizes-t430.html
Page 1 of 1

Author: Tubes [ 22 Nov 2011 06:32 am ]
Post subject: MoW Standard Base Sizes

After getting the bit between my teeth trying to ‘finish’ some outstanding jobs I managed to finish some MoW terrain. With that in mind I’d love to play a game or two this Xmas.

With the release of Dreadfleet (thank god I didn’t get that) I noticed the great bases the ships were mounted on. After some research I found on ‘The Sea of Claws’ these rules:

All ships mounted on standard bases due to

      “Easier to turn.
      Clear pass thru between ships.
      Certain contact for boarding action.
      Nice squadron formation. (I don’t care about this)
      If you hit the base you hit the ship.
      Your shot measurement start adjacent to the base.”

Basically it makes things clear cut and far simpler. Do you agree?

I’ll post the table when I’m on my laptop rather than phone.

BRETONNIAN Galleon 1½ x 3

BRETONNIAN Corsair 1½ x 3

BRETONNIAN Buccaneer 1 x 1½

DWARF Dreadnought 1 x 2½

DWARF Ironclad 1 x 2

DWARF Nautilus ½ x 2

DWARF Monitor ½ x 2

HIGH ELF Eagleship 1 x 2

HIGH ELF Dragonship 1½ x 2

HIGH ELF Hawkship 1 x 1½

IMPERIAL Greatship 1½ x 3

IMPERIAL Wolfships 1 x 2½

IMPERIAL Hell-Hammer 1 x 2

IMPERIAL Ironfist 1 x 2

IMPERIAL Wargalley 1 x 2


Author: snailracer [ 22 Nov 2011 05:50 pm ]
Post subject: Re: MoW Standard Base Sizes

This sounds far easier and like a very good idea. I’m guessing these dimensions are in cm?

I’ll have to dig out my empire fleet


Author: BrizzleRob [ 22 Nov 2011 06:51 pm ]
Post subject: Re: MoW Standard Base Sizes

I’m all for clarifying ship positions for clearances, boarding and shooting. Actually I suspect dimensions are inches.


Author: Tubes [ 23 Nov 2011 05:53 pm ]
Post subject: Re: MoW Standard Base Sizes

They are in inches. I marked them out and thought they seemed slight strange but then considering the masts & rigging I think they are good.

Just got some sheet for bases, wrecks & submerged nautiluses (or is it nautili?).


Author: Tubes [ 24 Nov 2011 01:30 pm ]
Post subject: Re: MoW Standard Base Sizes

Oh. Just thought about the size of the wreckage markers. I am intending to have wreckage markets the same size as the appropriate ships (unlike in the game were they have the same size for tiny & huge vessels!). Thoughts?


Author: BrizzleRob [ 29 Nov 2011 05:38 pm ]
Post subject: Re: MoW Standard Base Sizes

I agree that wreckage markers should be the same size. IIRC the marker only remains for a turn or two. It seems appropriate to reflect the intact size of the ship.


Author: Tubes [ 30 Nov 2011 06:20 am ]
Post subject: Re: MoW Standard Base Sizes

Wreckage (blocks LOS & movement, understandably as the ship is just sinking) stays for a turn .

It is then replaced by debris marker (not block LOS or, I think, movement)for the duration of the game (I think).

Essentially fleet admirals & wizards can then float on the wreckage/debris until they have been picked up.

I also intend that the debris markers be the same size as the wreckage/ship bases to correspond to the material dispersed due to the size of ship. I think this is logical.

What does IIRC mean?


Author: BrizzleRob [ 30 Nov 2011 06:03 pm ]
Post subject: Re: MoW Standard Base Sizes

IIRC = If I Remember Correctly

I’m less convinced that the debris should be as large. If they aren’t affecting play, but stick around, we should reduce any physical interference with other board pieces.


Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC – 1 hour [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/
