Wargamers
http://wargamers.freeforums.org/
Mobile Games
http://wargamers.freeforums.org/mobile-games-t588.html
Page 1 of 1

Author: NigeD [ 21 Oct 2013 09:32 pm ]
Post subject: Mobile Games

Just posting a couple of recommendations for smart phone games that are basically board style games on a phone.

Neuroshima Hex is a tile based combat game, four different armies battles it out (or more if you pay for additional armies). It takes maybe 5-10 minutes a game and the computer AI is ok, even if sometimes it does occasionally do sub-optimum moves.
http://www.neuroshimahex.com/

My other recommendation is Elder Signs Omens – it’s a pretty tough copy of the dice game with Arkham storylines. It’s a well produced game and pretty entertaining, but does drain the battery. The three adds-ons add extra monsters and adventures and locations and are probably worth it if you like the game style.
http://www.fantasyflightgames.com/edge_ … p?eidm=187

Anyone got any good games they like to play on their phones??


Author: RoninOakcleaver [ 22 Oct 2013 09:08 am ]
Post subject: Re: Mobile Games

Snake is pretty cool ;-)

I’m addicted at the moment to Marvel Avengers Alliance, which I play via Facebook on the laptop because I’ve not got a fancy Smartphone, although there is an App.
It’s a surprisingly intricate game where you recruit your team from all the marvel superheroes and then take part in different combat missions against marvel villains. You yourself can get experience and upograded weapons and the heroes all have their partiular skill sets, but the turn based combat mechanic is pretty cool and there are lots of additional bits and pieces to keep it interesting.


Author: BrizzleRob [ 22 Oct 2013 06:07 pm ]
Post subject: Re: Mobile Games

Doom and I have Elder Sign. I’ve also got Warhammer Quest, Plague Inc, and SimCity. They’re all pretty entertaining but unlike ‘proper’ games I typically struggle to maintain interest/focus. I put it down to the small iphone screen is not particularly engaging for a prolonged period.

Now trying to refrain from buying anything else. I’ve got enough to amuse me from time to time, and I prefer to listen to gaming/film podcasts on long journeys.


Author: DOOM [ 22 Oct 2013 08:45 pm ]
Post subject: Re: Mobile Games

Elder Sign is a brilliant ipod game!

I am also not so taken by mobile games. I have quite a few on my ipod. When I went travelling I downloaded Fabled Lands and other adventure style apps, such as some ipod-isized fighting fantasy books, which were fun for a long journey.

I think if I had a tablet I’d be more inclined to play games on it. Although, saying that, Miquette and I have played a lot of monopoly on my ipod!


Author: Tubes [ 22 Oct 2013 08:52 pm ]
Post subject: Re: Mobile Games

Monopoly on an ipod! But its a tiny screen…?


Author: snailracer [ 23 Oct 2013 06:00 am ]
Post subject: Re: Mobile Games

I don’t have time at work, and when I’m not at work I’ve got other things to do….

That said I was looking up NES emulators for the pc the other day :)


Author: DOOM [ 23 Oct 2013 08:17 am ]
Post subject: Re: Mobile Games

tubes, the screen is tiny, but it’s just about big enough to enjoy monopoly! the game camera moves around so you can get a better view on things. can be a bit fiddly pressing the right button as they are annoyingly lined up against the bottom of the screen and are prone to mis-pressing, but you can always go back.

it works and is a great travel game when you’re on the train with other people.


Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC – 1 hour [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/
