Wargamers
http://wargamers.freeforums.org/
Man’o’war Role Play…
http://wargamers.freeforums.org/man-o-war-role-play-t35.html
Page 1 of 1

Author: DOOM [ 19 Feb 2008 07:33 am ]
Post subject: Man’o’war Role Play…

While I was replying to Rob’s post about his pirate fleet I had a thought that the man’o’war rules might be perfect for a sort of “role-play” game. Where each player starts out with a small ship like a buccaneer and has to trek around plundering other ships and islands.

This would be perfect played on the 8 x 4 table, as one person could be the game master and the entire table could represent a big cove, with several islands and lots of ports around the edge, with the open sea at only 1 end of the board.

Then players could move their ships all over this large playing area, docking in ports, searching islands, ambushing trade ships trying to get from one side to the other. And on the way they can capture bigger ships, buy better crews etc.

If your ship gets sunk we could even make models for a guy on a raft so you can move like 2″ a turn to the nearest port, where you can try to start again. Or get picked up by another ship and stuff :)

Could be an afternoons entertainment at least? especially if we can get a good GM and 4+ players.


Author: snailracer [ 19 Feb 2008 11:16 am ]
Post subject:

I like that :D


Author: BrizzleRob [ 19 Feb 2008 06:28 pm ]
Post subject:

So are you volunteering to be GM then?! :)


Author: snailracer [ 19 Feb 2008 06:31 pm ]
Post subject:

yes, are you? :lol:


Author: BrizzleRob [ 19 Feb 2008 06:48 pm ]
Post subject:

Oh that’s good to hear. I’d actually intended to direct that question to Mr ‘DOOM’, but as I didn’t quote him I can see how wires were crossed. :wink:


Author: DOOM [ 19 Feb 2008 09:27 pm ]
Post subject:

Pah! I hate GMing :(

I could I spose, but I’ve always been the GM.

In this instance the GM would only be responsible for setting up what treasure was where and what trade fleets would be moving between ports. I suppose a story could be fit into it, but for a first time it could be fun just to have a “sandbox” with some basic set of rules for upgrading and treasure and exploring and stuff.

Anyway, I’ll ponder it and see what my mind comes up with.


Author: snailracer [ 20 Feb 2008 02:45 pm ]
Post subject:

Maybe rob should GM as he seems to have the best knowledge of the Man o war system? (no offence mr DOOM :wink: )

I like the idea of it being similar to the way the Warhammer world works in blood bowl. So there are no real warring countries/races and most violence is on the pitch.

So races rub alongside each other and trade. They arent generally friendly but arent openly hostile.

Would let you start out as whatever race you want and build up a crew of whoever you meet/coerce/chain up. I see it as a game of an individual starting out raiding fishing villages with like minded fellows etc to make money and then hire more crew and eventually have a small fleet and build up to raiding towns and attacking trade ships, and maybe even get recognised (or captured) and hired as a privateer for nation x.

This would also give the option of making enough money to buy your own bloodbowl team from your home port and then travel around to play games, whilst partaking of a little bit of piracy along the way 8)


Author: DOOM [ 20 Feb 2008 04:34 pm ]
Post subject:

I’d try to keep it more simple, in the beginning.

I was going to suggest you just allow human ships of all types and confine it to a large natural harbour type area inside empire or bretannian lands somewhere.

But if the idea was to expand I really like your ideas!


Author: snailracer [ 20 Feb 2008 05:47 pm ]
Post subject:

After I’d written that i thought it was a bit complicated.

Found these two sets of rules that might cover my suggestions:

http://www.blackscorpionminiatures.com/product.asp?product=PIR12&the_range=PIR
EDIT: and also here as well (didnt realise it was a Warhammer Historical product!) http://www.warhammer-historical.com/legends-high-seas/legends-high-seas.asp

http://www.spiritofthegame.org.uk/warhammerahoy/


Author: BrizzleRob [ 20 Feb 2008 07:39 pm ]
Post subject:

Off Topic-ish
Wow I’ve just come across BlackIndustries.com, a website for Warhammer roleplay. Lots of interesting fluff there.


Author: Tubes [ 24 Feb 2008 10:10 am ]
Post subject:

I have to say that this idea doesn’t really float my boat :wink: . I think firstly lets crack on with some MoW sometime, and from then on we could maybe develop the idea. Maybe start off with a MoW campaign, see how that goes, how we can tweak it. Then maybe try this idea out :?:


Author: DOOM [ 24 Feb 2008 10:19 am ]
Post subject:

I think an idea like this would do the opposite.

I think this is a nice simple idea that could actually infuse some motivation to play MoW. Sort of a fun game where people who haven’t played before can move a ship around, fire the cannons, get used to the mechanics of the game, with a little story and fun stuff around it.

Would be ideal for the people who havne’t played before, and I’d really enjoy it :) Infact I would be up for GMing it. I’d keep it very basic.


Author: BrizzleRob [ 24 Feb 2008 10:23 am ]
Post subject:

I’m banging out ships at the mo. We should have extensive Brettonnian and High Elf fleets physically completed in the next day or two, to join the Dwarves.

I’m actually looking forward to straight games of MoW and this roleplay variant.


Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC – 1 hour [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/
