Wargamers
http://wargamers.freeforums.org/
Inquisitor
http://wargamers.freeforums.org/inquisitor-t438.html
Page 1 of 2

Author: snailracer [ 15 Jan 2012 09:34 am ]
Post subject: Inquisitor

I’ve got a little inquisitor campaign in mind, I’m hoping it will start small and simple and allow players to develop their characters and learn the rules as we go.

Is anyone up for it and around for long enough? I’ve left most of my ideas fairly open so players can come and go and even play different characters if the scenario needs.

If you are up for joining in what character would you want to be?

Inquisitor – Acolytes only. Can be more than one in the campaign. More than likely to be chasing heretics, artifacts etc

Adeptus mechanicus – Magos. More than likely hunting for lost technology from the dark age

Rogue Trader – More than likely chasing any lead he gets to make money

Cultists – Priest of whchever cult you choose (redemptionist, genestealer, chaos etc) More than likely hunting for artifacts etc

Ecclesiarchy – Preacher. Can be used as a separate character but may be better in a retinue. More than likely to be hunting heretics and artifacts

The following are probably best used as your main characters retinue (although the assassin may be an independant but would probably never have a retinue):
Imperial guard, desperados, enforcers, mutants, Arco-flagellants, assassins, daemonhost,

All characters will start at the lowest level and progress as fits their character/deeds. There will be plenty of scope to recruit retinue etc.

I was going to stick with 28mm miniatures as we have far more scope within all our collections to cover all the character types. Hopefully we’ve got some civilian minis between us as well.

This wont happen until late feb/march as we’re moving house. Again.


Author: DOOM [ 15 Jan 2012 09:59 am ]
Post subject: Re: Inquisitor

If I was down south I would definitely take part! But at the moment I work friday and saturday evenings so I can’t see myself coming down even on a regular basis. sucks! Hope to come down in march sometime though for a few days, so if you were doing an evening at that time I can always take control of any randoms.

Hope you get interest from the others, maybe sell you idea at the next BB evening?


Author: Tubes [ 15 Jan 2012 11:51 am ]
Post subject: Re: Inquisitor

I should be down from mid March-ish. I’m intending to travel back to mine most w/ends. But maybe mid week in Soton or once every few weeks in Lym (on fri night or sun evening).

Going 28mm is probably best. In anticipation I started (yet again another project after a ‘good idea’) the bare bones of some urban terrain. Like Necromunda but hopefully some alleys, small buildings etc.

I assume I’ll be the only regular (aside from Pete?). I quite fancy being a Rogue Trader rather than an all powerful/knowing Inquisitor. I better crack on with that terrain next time I’m back! I’m now trying to think whether we have a suitable model as a Rogue Trader… ummm maybe it’ll have to be an Orclock ganger initially.


Author: Tubes [ 15 Jan 2012 12:06 pm ]
Post subject: Re: Inquisitor

Just think of what 28mm models we have available & relating them to the 54mm(?) Inquisitor models:

Redemptionists
Gangers/Henchmen (Orlock)
Guardsmen
Assassins
Eldar Scouts
Pit Slaves?

Could probably knock up from zombies/cultists + the various other aliens we have


Author: BrizzleRob [ 15 Jan 2012 12:21 pm ]
Post subject: Re: Inquisitor

Sounds very cool, but I (obviously) wouldn’t be able to do anything regularly. Perhaps I could make the occasional ‘guest’ appearance as a preacher? A few GW produced options below…

Image

Below is probably my model of choice
Image

Image

Image

Image

Image


Author: snailracer [ 16 Jan 2012 05:07 pm ]
Post subject: Re: Inquisitor

If we could all get together for a weekend in March that would be ideal. We could have an initial game that uses all of the characters and sets the scene for the coming campaign and why each character would be involved.

Rob, I really like that model as well. Looks like we have a preacher and a Rogue trader. I would like an Inquisitor in the campaign, maybe I can use him as well as be GM? Ju what character would you like?

We should have plenty of minis to use between us. Ideally a player doesnt really want more than 3 characters each as apparently it can get really long and tedious. GM characters will be very basic unless they are key to the scenario. Civilians are very likely to just go to ground,although some more adventurous civvies may well be coerced into helping or even take pots shots at authority (as long as their back is turned :) )

The scenery sound great chris. Once Em and I have moved and have a bit more space I may well dig out my city boards from the loft and give them a refurbish.


Author: DOOM [ 16 Jan 2012 09:26 pm ]
Post subject: Re: Inquisitor

I like the idea of being a rogue psycher and his cronies, but I think that’s one model we don’t have! Otherwise, a bounty hunter or just some authority figure/s.

Considering how infrequent I’ll likely be I can play any character the GM wants.


Author: snailracer [ 17 Jan 2012 08:06 am ]
Post subject: Re: Inquisitor

I have a genestealer magus who could stand in as a psycher…

I’m sure I can think up lots of interesting side characters for you to use.

Inquisitor feels like far more of a group game than just one on one so it would be good to get a group together to play, however infrequently


Author: BrizzleRob [ 17 Jan 2012 08:38 pm ]
Post subject: Re: Inquisitor

Sounds interesting. Are we able to create characters on the forum? I see the rules are available in PDF. I should be back for a weekend in March.


Author: snailracer [ 17 Jan 2012 10:37 pm ]
Post subject: Re: Inquisitor

I think the best way to go about character creation is decide on the character and background before rolling stats and working out skills, that way you can tailor the stats and skills to match the background etc.

It’s probably better to keep it simple/basic at this stage, so just using the rookie stats for each character and the barest of skills to emphasise character. It also gives the opportunity to develop the characters after particularly heroic acts in scenarios without making them too uber.

My plan initially was to get all players to decide on their basic character type and personality (is your rogue trader the Han Solo type or would he sell his soul for a profit etc?) and then roll up the stats and decide skills before the first scenario. It would help the scenario to know a bit about characters to determine what their objectives might be (Han wouldn’t be off to assassinate a princess etc). If you have a rough idea of what skills and stats your character has then we can go with that and not roll. The rule book talks a lot about balance; a master swordsman would have spent so much time training with blades that his shooting would suffer, and vice versa. This would also be true of psykers having high mental acuity but low physical atributes and vices versa. The point is to develop a character not an uber kill all machine (a space marine).

My initial scenario would have each player using only one character each. All players would have roughly the same objective but with variations to cause friction between them. Depending on how that turned out the next scenario would follow on etc.

So characters and backgrounds please….


Author: snailracer [ 18 Jan 2012 10:17 pm ]
Post subject: Re: Inquisitor

This seems to be the best place for inquisitor info: The Conclave

And some very useful advice on character creation and how high stats should be and what skills are appropriate Characters


Author: Tubes [ 22 Jan 2012 05:50 pm ]
Post subject: Re: Inquisitor

I’ve got the rules & character generation stuff on my laptop so I’ll try to think/knock something up for next weekend (I’ll be in Lym).

Thinking about it it would be great to have a rogue trader with some lads/crew, maybe an Adeptus mechanicus with a couple of guardmen… I even resisted some arbite enforcers. Thankfully ebay doesn’t see much cheaper than direct.


Author: Tubes [ 28 Jan 2012 07:44 pm ]
Post subject: Re: Inquisitor

Sorry Matt, I only picked Cadia due to our forces for 40k + plenty of interest for the Inquisition. But maybe we could drift in/around the sub-system for Chaos cults, stealer infestations, rogue pyskers etc

I’ve got a model in mind for my rogue trader/freighter captain (photo in next couple of days). I think he will be more of a pistol shot rather than close combat. Maybe Fast Draw and even Hip Shooter traits?

Just trying to finish first bit of terrain… When do you reckon we could do our first gathering?


Author: DOOM [ 29 Jan 2012 11:02 am ]
Post subject: Re: Inquisitor

Nice characters!

You could always set it in the Pedron system? I had always intended that it become a mixing pot for all comers, particularly on the out fringes of the system in the old mining colonies and orbitting space stations.

I’d considered that these places, far from the main conflict on Pedron prime, were places for freebooters, heretics and mercenaries to take opportunities created by the conflict. Then you’ve got the space ork pirates, eldar insurgents and the tyranid “infection” that is deeply ingrained in the system and possibly the main reason for why the old human inhabitants were wiped out…?


Author: Tubes [ 29 Jan 2012 02:00 pm ]
Post subject: Re: Inquisitor

Done a bit towards the terrain yesterday afternoon:
Image
I wanted a few really dense alley bits. Where you can just get one guy down there. Don’t worry, there are some more open areas too.

Image
(without water jar in the final design)
I also have plans for a small chaos cult hideout, an arbite patrol house, a shrine and a couple of multi-storey pieces (a la necromunda terrain).

Found these great propaganda posters (and some more, but I can’t track down the source now. Must have been on the Conclave forum somewhere…). Which once the terrain has been muted down and made suitably depressing can be added to demoralise any inhabitants.

Also this is the bloke I quite fancy getting for my character. Not quite sure about the medical bag though…
Image


Page 1 of 2 All times are UTC – 1 hour [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/

 

Wargamers
http://wargamers.freeforums.org/
Inquisitor
http://wargamers.freeforums.org/inquisitor-t438-15.html
Page 2 of 2

Author: snailracer [ 29 Jan 2012 04:13 pm ]
Post subject: Re: Inquisitor

Terrain is all looking good mate. I like the mini and I reckon you could easily swap the bag for another pistol/sword etc. Skills sound pretty good. I can imagine a rogue trader needing to be quick on the draw and good with a pistol to get deals made and get out of dodgy situations.

For me the whole point of inquisitor is fighting the invisible fight, so far more likely to be in inhabited civilised space keeping the heretics/cults/demons at bay with occasional forays into more dangerous areas to follow up leads/hunt down suspects. Think more ‘spooks’ or Sherlock holmes than necromunda or 40k, so one or two good guys taking out small cells of bad guys that may or may not be controlled by a central bad guy…..

The Pedron system sounds about right; is it part of the official background or did you invent it? Where is it etc. My first few ideas started around a mining world in an inhabited and fairly prosperous system. Several planets in the system, Mining world, hive world, agri world etc. Did you ever get a map drawn up for Pedron?

We move house on the 15th/weekend of the 18/19th so I cant see me being free before that as we have a lot of stuff to sort out.


Author: BrizzleRob [ 17 Feb 2012 08:18 pm ]
Post subject: Re: Inquisitor

You may have noticed that I’ve moved a load of background and fluff stuff into the 40k background/”fluff” sub-forum, including the character posts originally within this thread. I’ve also created a single stickied thread which will link all the Pedron fluff. I, perhaps optimistically, hope that over time together we can create background a bit like that within GW’s Thorians source book.

I hope you approve!


Page 2 of 2 All times are UTC – 1 hour [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/
