Wargamers
http://wargamers.freeforums.org/
Initial BFG Thoughts
http://wargamers.freeforums.org/initial-bfg-thoughts-t426.html
Page 1 of 1

Author: BrizzleRob [ 02 Nov 2011 07:42 am ]
Post subject: Initial BFG Thoughts

Firstly I should mention that Tubes has made and painted some incredible looking planets. Hopefully he’ll upload some photos soon.

I know we’ve discussed BFG several times in the past. Like the rest of you I’d like to make some progress soon. Of course we should start small and simple, but ultimately I like the idea of having an array of Chaos and Imperial ships in two or three paint schemes. I like the idea of having the flexibility to play Imperial against Chaos, AND fleets with a mixture of ships (Chaos ships = pre Heresy Imperial ships, and Imperial ships = Heretic ships).

I have no understanding of fleet balance or composition. Is there an Excel fleet calculator/builder out there?


Author: The Power Spence [ 02 Nov 2011 11:38 am ]
Post subject: Re: Initial BFG Thoughts

The fleets aren’t really that complicated as very few ships can have upgrades.

Composition wise they are fairly simple as well, with a sort of pyramid structure where you need multiples of smaller ships to get access to bigger ones.

There have been some FAQs out recently which atm are unofficial, but everyone who plays BB uses them. From what I’ve seen most of the changes are for the better.

I’ll post up a link at some point where you can download the pdfs. I don’t know of any excel fleet builders that are available.

With regards to fleet balance, althought the rulebook does state that you could maybe house rule mixing chaos and imp fleets. I personally think that is bad as you can make some outrageous fleets. However there are rules for “Reserves” where you can use other ships, but are very limited and I think that would work out ok.


Author: BrizzleRob [ 02 Nov 2011 09:28 pm ]
Post subject: Re: Initial BFG Thoughts

Thanks for the reply. Happy to keep fleetixing to a minimum, but I do like the idea of having the flexibility.

I’d appreciate any FAQ and calculaters you might find!


Author: The Power Spence [ 09 Nov 2011 02:21 pm ]
Post subject: Re: Initial BFG Thoughts

Rob,

Take a gandalf at the following files.

https://docs.google.com/leaf?id=0Bw_dUL … NjZjdjODQ1


Author: BrizzleRob [ 17 Nov 2011 07:09 pm ]
Post subject: Re: Initial BFG Thoughts

I’m downloading them.

Tubes should show the planets, moons and asteroids he has made.


Author: BrizzleRob [ 03 Jan 2012 09:03 pm ]
Post subject: Re: Initial BFG Thoughts

I understand a quick game was played over Xmas. How large we’re the forces involved, and what points total might we typically expect to use in future?


Author: DOOM [ 03 Jan 2012 10:32 pm ]
Post subject: Re: Initial BFG Thoughts

Pete and I played a 750pt game. I had:

Mars Class Battlecruiser
Lunar Class Cruiser
Dauntless Class Lightcruiser
4 Storm Class Frigates

I don’t know the names of pete’s ship but he had:

Carrier Cruiser
2 basic chaos cruisers (slaughter class?)
4-5 destroyers

I loved using my Mars Class, launching bombers, firing the Nova cannon and then peppering ships with the dorsal lances. So versatile and sturdy for small fleet action. I can understand that such a ship wouldn’t be very useful in larger engagements as it’s too expensive and doesn’t have a concentrated single purpose.

There was a planet in the middle of the sector we were fighting across which made for interesting maneuvering and flanking tactics. My Lunar did just that and it was quite devastating, sweeping across the north pole of the planet before releasing a salvo of torpedo right across all three of Pete’s cruisers!

Honestly, I feel I wouldn’t want to play any games larger than 1000pts. The damage recording isn’t too complicated, but I wouldn’t want to be thinking about it for 8+ cruisers.

I’m quite keen to use fleets with only 3-5 light cruisers/cruisers/battlecruisers/grandcruiser and then make up the rest of the points with squadrons of destroyers and frigates. The squadrons are devastating when they concentrate their fire on a single cruiser! My dauntless was hammered by pete’s destroyers!


Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC – 1 hour [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/
