Wargamers
http://wargamers.freeforums.org/
Fondest table top gaming memory
http://wargamers.freeforums.org/fondest-table-top-gaming-memory-t555.html
Page 1 of 1

Author: DOOM [ 03 Apr 2013 11:32 am ]
Post subject: Fondest table top gaming memory

I was writing on my blog this morning and after posting thought it might be nice for you guys to read this as it involved Snailracer and my brothers; they might remember it better than I did! I was also curious to find out what other people’s memorable gaming moments were. Anyway, I hope you enjoy it.

I was awake in the early hours a few nights ago mulling over a memory that has always stuck with me and thinking about whether table top gaming will ever produce another, such memorable event.

The event I’m referring to was a small, impromptu tournament I took part in between my brothers, a friend of ours, his cousin, me and another person, who I can’t recall (maybe it was just between 5 of us?). I was about 13 or 14 at the time and we were playing 2nd edition Warhammer 40k.

The reason I remember it so fondly is because we managed to fit in a round-robin tournament in an afternoon, we all kept the same forces between each game, no-one had any “beardy” armies (that I remember, anyway) and every game was fun! I borrowed some orks from our mate and I absolutely loved my small band of space orks, led by a mega-armoured boss and his squad of mega-armoured nobz.

I’m not sure if I won a single game, but the action and gameplay was so memorable it still stands as my fondest memory of table top gaming, which I’ve tried to replicate since with almost no success. Why is this?! We’ve had small, “fun” tournaments since but with later additions of Warhammer 40k and there was never that sense of meaningfulness or fun gameplay. It always seemed a bit dry and mathematical, with players getting annoyed at other peoples forces and accusations of armies being too good or under-powered.

Maybe the problem is that we were all older and couldn’t help but design armies that we designed to win, and adults brains work differently to kids brains, so a lot of the magic I remember could be because I was young and naïve.

I have had some great table top gaming experiences since. When my friends and I got hooked on playing 1000 point Warhammer Fantasy armies, we had great joy in the development of our heroes names and stories, and their small bands. I had a Dwarf hero by the name of Skalf Greybeard and his Grudgebearers; a friend of mine had a Imperial force under the command of the enigmatic Lucius von Brunhof (probably spelt that wrong…). We had rules over the army composition, so no-one could really make an all-dominating force. They were great games. But even they got dry eventually.

Maybe it was our unquestioning desire to play the “current” ruleset which killed the fun. Later editions of 40k and fantasy didn’t seem to really help to re-invigorate our passion for the game and probably only helped to confuse some of us.

Well, that was what kept me up the other night, all these thoughts.

Maybe we should just play 2nd edition 40k again?


Author: BrizzleRob [ 03 Apr 2013 12:45 pm ]
Post subject: Re: Fondest table top gaming memory

I remember that day. It was good fun. I don’t recall anyone having a particularly breast force, and the games were played in good spirit.

Keeping the games small and simple helped. I think the big problem we’ve had with 40k in recent years is going too big. Too large a board generally favours the player who a) has the first turn and b) has the most guns. Not good for Orks! Smaller games allow a few games to be played in an afternoon. If you got smashed in one, you can give payback in the next.

It has no direct comparison, being a board game, but I hope DreadBall can achieve the same memorable days.


Author: Tubes [ 03 Apr 2013 03:22 pm ]
Post subject: Re: Fondest table top gaming memory

Yup, small to middling games were good. But you wanted some highlights for each side. I think in later editions with larger units & more destructive weapons it was tough as a small, out ranged force to achieve anything.

I’d like to try some small skirmishes again, one day…

But back on topic I’m afraid nothing has really popped out of my head. Obviously the BB league at school was great, 40k through the years (& a bit more :S ), a small Necromunda campaign, more BB again & a few great humongous 40k games. Now however there are have been some great board games & DB!


Author: snailracer [ 03 Apr 2013 03:40 pm ]
Post subject: Re: Fondest table top gaming memory

I think that tournament stands out for me as well. I have a feeling it was only 750 pts but I could be wrong. 2nd edition was a far smaller scale and did seem to produce some decent games. That said it did include the overwatch rule, which unbalanced it quite seriously. Just grabbed the codices off the shelf; 2nd edition orks cost 12pts, the current boys cost 6pts.

I’d like to play some skirmish games as well. Somewhere between Necro and 40k.

As for other stand out moments I do fondly recall a massive Necro game at Wallis place in his living room, and I think Doom and I had some good little games when we played regularly, although none stand out on their own.

Nice little blog post as well. Enjoyed reading it


Author: BrizzleRob [ 03 Apr 2013 07:02 pm ]
Post subject: Re: Fondest table top gaming memory

There certainly have been some epic games, or even series of games, of Necromunda back in the day with Wallis. My main memory was a day at his with some sort of ‘town hall’ meeting of gangs which goes wrong. I can’t remember the specifics.

Yep some good BB in the past as well as some enjoyable WHQ.


Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC – 1 hour [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/
