Wargamers
http://wargamers.freeforums.org/
Tournaments
http://wargamers.freeforums.org/tournaments-t358.html
Page 1 of 1

Author: DOOM [ 01 Nov 2010 05:07 pm ]
Post subject: Tournaments

I enjoy watching the LBBL trundling on, the various dramas between teams and coaches, deaths and injuries etc.. But it occured to me that we’ve not had a tournie in yonks. So I considered how we could do it and I reckon I/we could run a tournie through the forums.

I’d firstly ask coaches to sign up which teams they want to participate, then either figure out a seeding system or just randomly determine first round match up; once everyone has played the first round I then sort out the second round etc.. The final can then be played when we/you guys meet up for a weekend, so it has a proper audience (as is appropriate for such an occasion).

The prize fund would be agreed by commish (Lambo) and would be resolved once all matches are concluded.

Using the forum I/we could also run tournies which involve a group stage, so players can enter more than one team, with rules in place for such occasions as a player gets 2 teams through (although maybe it’s best not to think about this style of tournie atm).

I had thought that we could run 2 or 3 tournies at once, or at regular intervals through the year, each focussed at a different Team Value.

An example could be the Orcidas Supa Kup, for teams with TV of 2 million and over only, winner gets +100k winnings, runner up +50k and 3rd place gets +30k. When you take into account spiralling expenses for these teams the money would be highly sort after!

Any thoughts?


Author: snailracer [ 02 Nov 2010 06:26 pm ]
Post subject: Re: Tournaments

I like everything you have said there Ju. It would definitely make sense to run any tourneys alongside the usual games, and I like the idea of the final being played with an audience.

If we trial this using one team per coach to start with (as you say to keep it simple to begin with) and then randomise the draw. Once all games have been played then the second round can be played etc (I know some coaches would be able to play almost all the way to the final depending on the draw but I like the idea of each round of the cup happening at roughly the same time. This may then need a time limit in which to play your game that is reasonable for the coaches involved (having to play chris whilst he is at sea may need quite a long time limit :) ). I guess some common sense can be involved, but several months between games should be frowned upon.

So everyone put forward a team and lets get it organised Ju.


Author: Luke [ 02 Nov 2010 09:37 pm ]
Post subject: Re: Tournaments

It’s funny you should mention this actually as i was only yesterday suggesting organising something to Rich, I think the key thing is that the prospect of competition and a deffinate “end” provides people with the motivation to organise and play games a little more regularly.
Personally i only have 3 teams and don’t really want to use my orks, and there’s a vast difference in value between my chaos dwarves and Lizards. So am happy to use either of those depending on the value of other teams entering. Don’t think there are many about as new as my Lizards.


Author: RoninOakcleaver [ 03 Nov 2010 02:56 pm ]
Post subject: Re: Tournaments

As I’ve discussed today with Ju and Luke seperately, I’m happy with this suggestion (in fact I thinkg I amde a similar one a while back) and think it would be cool to have a slightly structured thing alongside the other games we play.
The only suggestion I might make is that we have some special rules for the games so that they truly feel different from the other games we paly, even if it is just a slightly modified Kick off table.
But otherwise happy for Ju to organise the draws/mechanisms etc and to submit a team depending on TV parameters.


Author: DOOM [ 03 Nov 2010 06:51 pm ]
Post subject: Re: Tournaments

Ok cool. I’ll have a short ponder and put something on the LBBL forum for the Orkidas Supa Kup.

Might need to have a basic group stage to start with as we don’t have enough teams to do a big knock out style. So if we have 6 players I’ll split them into 2 groups of 3 and each team plays each other once, so it’s only 2 games, within 2-3 months or so.

We’ll probably go with our classic tournie restriction of no Free Lancers (star players) or mercenaries. Only additional players you can use would be journeymen if you can’t make a full 11.


Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC – 1 hour [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/
