Wargamers
http://wargamers.freeforums.org/
Dungeonbowl
http://wargamers.freeforums.org/dungeonbowl-t377.html
Page 1 of 2

Author: snailracer [ 04 Dec 2010 04:59 pm ]
Post subject: Dungeonbowl

Having flicked through various rules files and pitch templates on my computer during the last two snow days I’ve decided we need a dungeonbowl game/tournament.

I dont know where and when or how we’d run it but I reckon it would be a laugh and pretty fast paced as its just the first to score wins.

Use our normal teams and play normal league rules but in a dungeon :D


Author: Luke [ 07 Dec 2010 10:15 pm ]
Post subject: Re: Dungeonbowl

If everyone else is up for it then i’ll play, it sounds like a laugh, but i think it would be a shame to suffer a stat decrease or death from an exploding chest while searching for the ball, maybe that could be modified as a “MNG” at maximum. The only reason i say that, is that from briefly reading the rules it’s very far removed from ordinary BB.

I was wondering if anyone would be up for playing something taking some of the rules but using a more traditional layout? Still a regular sized pitch but with no crowd – instead we count it as a walled dungeon, and there would be 8 evenly distributed squares down the board representing stone pillars holding the dungeon roof up.
I suggest the following rules:
Wall pass: taken directly from dungeon bowl rules.
No longer than a short pass (low ceiling): taken directly from dungeon bowl rules.
Stone Pillars block passing line of sight.
and here’s the biggy – if you are blocked/blitzed against a wall or into a pillar then the person performing the action gets +2 to armour and +1 to injury (which CAN be combined with MB) to represent the fact you’ve just been smashed against stone. Sidestep/stand firm still count as normal to negate this.

Because it should be more brutal, maybe we could shorten the game to 12 turns? The lack of players on the pitch should mean you’ll score quicker anyway.

I preffer the idea of it remaining closer to BB, you may well disagree but the full dungeonbowl rules set seems long winded to me, feedback much appreciated anyway.


Author: snailracer [ 08 Dec 2010 09:19 am ]
Post subject: Re: Dungeonbowl

We would play normal tournie rules so MNG’s dont count but all other injuries stand. We could make the chest’s have a -1 armour roll but they need to cause damage otherwise its not dungeonbowl :)

The game itself can be over quite quickly and is fast and fun. We can add in an extra apothecary for every team if you’re worried about deaths, but really there is less chance of dying as very few blocks get thrown and the chests are not very deadly.

I’d be happy to get everyone round here with a few printed out dungeons one weekend and run a mini tournie


Author: RoninOakcleaver [ 08 Dec 2010 03:01 pm ]
Post subject: Re: Dungeonbowl

Happy to be involved, depending on dates. Don’t mind very harsh conditions either, goes hand in hand with what we were saying in our other post.
How much more fun would our league be if we had a more high turnover of deaths!?


Author: snailracer [ 09 Dec 2010 09:41 pm ]
Post subject: Re: Dungeonbowl

Well I’m very much up for this so I’ll suggest the last weekend in January (29th 30th) at my place for the inaugural LBBL Dungeonbowl tournament.

Please let me know if the date is good and then let me know which team you’ll be entering. It will be a free for all tournament so any team can enter. Inducements will be used with a very definite emphasis on dirty tricks and other highly entertaining methods of levelling (literally) the playing field (dungeon).

Full rules to follow when I know there are enough numbers to run a tourney


Author: Tubes [ 10 Dec 2010 06:44 am ]
Post subject: Re: Dungeonbowl

Sounds good. I think, to start, that clasic dungeonbowl rules need to be played – as a datum. I would also keep the +1 armour roll, as other posts have stated that our league is maybe not BLOODy enough. We could tweak it in future games after review of the tourney.

I think the suggestion of BB pitch with columns sounds great but I think would suit faster teams, especially if it is 1st score wins.

Dungeonbowl is especially random (with teleporting and chests) which can hinder/assist teams. If it was not narrow tunnels and random teleporting/chests then fast teams would have a distinct advantage.


Author: RoninOakcleaver [ 10 Dec 2010 01:06 pm ]
Post subject: Re: Dungeonbowl

Blast it all, I can’t make the 29th/30th Weekend :-(
Please feel free to go ahead without me, if everybody else can make it.


Author: snailracer [ 10 Dec 2010 05:04 pm ]
Post subject: Re: Dungeonbowl

well let me know which jan weekends you can make. I cant do 15th so I guess its a question of can we all do the 22nd?


Author: RoninOakcleaver [ 10 Dec 2010 08:49 pm ]
Post subject: Re: Dungeonbowl

22nd is currently free for me.


Author: NigeD [ 11 Dec 2010 04:57 pm ]
Post subject: Re: Dungeonbowl

yeah, 22nd is fine for me too


Author: NigeD [ 11 Dec 2010 04:59 pm ]
Post subject: Re: Dungeonbowl

oh and happy to host the weekend in Guildford :), but I’m easy


Author: Luke [ 12 Dec 2010 04:08 pm ]
Post subject: Re: Dungeonbowl

I believe i’m free for the 22nd.
If you want to point me in the direction of PDF’s of dungeon layouts or tell me how i can design some. I’m more than happy to print them out at work on a decent material (up to 1 metre wide and as long as you want)
although i wouldn’t suggest making a 20 metre dungeon, could be boring.
I presume there will be a couple of different dungeons to play in?


Author: snailracer [ 12 Dec 2010 05:55 pm ]
Post subject: Re: Dungeonbowl

I will post a full tourney ruleset when I know we have numbers (can someone poke pete to reply please :) ).

I was going to stick to the standard dungeon and all the standard rules just to make life easier and give everyone a level playing field (dungeon). If it is a success and we decide to have another tourney in the future we can discuss any changes we think need to be made.

http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_CustomProductCatalog/m1340001_Dungeon_Bowl.pdf


Author: snailracer [ 13 Dec 2010 05:01 pm ]
Post subject: Re: Dungeonbowl

Really sorry about this but I’m going to have to change to the 15th. Got a family thing on the 22nd.

Who can attend?


Author: NigeD [ 13 Dec 2010 07:49 pm ]
Post subject: Re: Dungeonbowl

yep, can do the 15th


Page 1 of 2 All times are UTC – 1 hour [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/

 

 

Wargamers
http://wargamers.freeforums.org/
Dungeonbowl
http://wargamers.freeforums.org/dungeonbowl-t377-15.html
Page 2 of 2

Author: The Power Spence [ 14 Dec 2010 10:59 am ]
Post subject: Re: Dungeonbowl

As far as I know, I’m free for any of the weekends.


Author: RoninOakcleaver [ 14 Dec 2010 12:23 pm ]
Post subject: Re: Dungeonbowl

The 15th is a maybe for me.


Author: snailracer [ 14 Dec 2010 05:23 pm ]
Post subject: Re: Dungeonbowl

We need you Rich, you’re the main advocate of putting the blood back in and I’m looking forward to your bloodthirsty dungeonbowling :)


Author: RoninOakcleaver [ 14 Dec 2010 07:09 pm ]
Post subject: Re: Dungeonbowl

Ok, I’ve pulled some strings and spoken to my people and they reckon the 15th is ok ;-)


Author: Tubes [ 03 Jan 2011 07:58 am ]
Post subject: Re: Dungeonbowl

I can’t make the 15th. But with 5 ther should be a welcome break for 1, or even an umpire/impartial rules guru if required.


Author: snailracer [ 03 Jan 2011 03:15 pm ]
Post subject: Re: Dungeonbowl

I’m afraid I’m going to have to cancel the weekend. I am really sorry. Its the only weekend Emma and I can get up to see my family before we go away. Hopefully we can re-arrange for sometime in march. Again I’m very sorry


Author: RoninOakcleaver [ 04 Jan 2011 09:14 am ]
Post subject: Re: Dungeonbowl

No worries dude, family comes first.

It would be good if we could get a weekend when everyone could make it anyway – would’ve been a shame for Chris to have missed out.


Author: Tubes [ 05 Jan 2011 06:45 am ]
Post subject: Re: Dungeonbowl

Matt how long are you away for (so we can roughtly plan)?


Author: snailracer [ 05 Jan 2011 01:01 pm ]
Post subject: Re: Dungeonbowl

3-19th of feb. Paid for it last night! I think 2011 is a going to be a frugal year.

I think the first weekend in march (5th) might be a good option.


Author: RoninOakcleaver [ 05 Jan 2011 01:43 pm ]
Post subject: Re: Dungeonbowl

First weekend in March is no good for me I’m afraid but if everyone else is free then go for it.


Page 2 of 2 All times are UTC – 1 hour [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/
